The Last Bridge

The Last Bridge

A Novel

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
For fans of Jodi Picoult and Sue Miller, a dark, edgy, page-turning debut about the lengths one woman will travel to escape her past After a ten-year absence, Alex "Cat" Rucker returns to her Ohio hometown because of a letter left on her mother's kitchen table--a suicide note, carefully preserved in a Ziploc® bag, that reads: "He isn't who you think he is. Love, Mom" Thus opens this stunning debut novel from author Teri Coyne, who, with wry humor and sharp wit, follows Alex's journey through the traumatic experiences of her youth and the haze of her adult life. While Alex tries to repress the memories of her brutal childhood--an abusive father, her estranged (and possibly illegitimate) brother, and the first love who would do anything to save her--she must face just how shattered she still is. At each step Alex confronts her biggest fears, realizes the impact of her choices, and inches closer to redemption. Can she embrace her vulnerabilities, talents, and desire for love, or will the revelations of her mother's cryptic note prove too overwhelming for her to bear? The Last Bridgeis a perfect blend of suspense, despair, and romance--and at its heart lies the question: are we a product of our experiences or our choices? From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, c2009.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780345507310
0345507312
Characteristics: 225 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Mothercat
Jan 14, 2014

First book I've read by this author, and I'll now look for more. Gritty story of a woman's relationship with her abusive father and the others in what seems to be a pretty dysfunctional family.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top