The Kneebone Boy

The Kneebone Boy

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
10
5
2
Rate this:
Otto, Lucia, and Max Hardscrabble, whose mother has been missing for many years, have unexpected and illuminating adventures in the village of Snoring-by-the-Sea after their father, who paints portraits of deposed monarchs, goes away on a business trip.
Publisher: New York : Feiwel and Friends, 2010.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780312377724
031237772X
Characteristics: 282 p. ; 22 cm.
Alternative Title: Knee bone boy.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
Abycuby
Jul 09, 2015

I really found this book interesting. It was pretty mysterious and the ending baffled me! I really love this book.

n
Nour_11
Oct 16, 2014

This book made it's way into my most favorite books of all time. It has it's share of puzzle-solving, and a little bit of action in a part. I especially liked the character Otto, but I have to admit I'm not sure why. Maybe it's because how mysterious Otto can be sometimes, or maybe it's because of the things he does, like communicate with his sister using a specific hand language. All in all, this was a book I REALLY really enjoyed!

n
naguiar
Apr 29, 2014

Ah, The Kneebone Boy. I loved this book-but, in truth I am not sure why. I adored the characters of the three Hardscrabble children, especially Lucia and her and Otto's codependent relationship. I loved Chester the five-legged cat because that is the charming obscurity that makes Ellen Potter so good. The ending was not at all what I was expecting, but I felt that there were holes left in the plot as a result. Not everything added up, but overall it was a good book. Though they never directly tell the reader who the narrator was, I think it was clear as their personality shines through the pages of the story. Charmingly witty, in a way that was clearly written by an American writing about British people who don't get American mannerisms-but still done well. I was a big fan of Potter's Olivia Kidney books as well, which showcase more of her wit and charm in her words.

janicedlb Dec 03, 2013

This was a fun read AND very surprising when the secret behind the story was revealed. I would be happy to read more about the Hardscabbles.

JCLChrisK Aug 14, 2013

The Hardscrabble siblings, like most young people, yearn for adventure, but they have particularly good reasons to desire it more than most: their mom went missing years ago with no explanation, they are each deeply odd in different ways, and they are treated as strange outcasts in their very normal, very boring small town. Even so, they don't intentionally create an adventure for themselves; instead, an adventure finds them and they have to figure out if they have the courage and perseverance to deal with the unusual circumstances.
---
Their artist father is going away on one of his frequent trips for work, but this time he gives them less notice than normal and doesn't leave them with their neighbor but sends them to London to stay with a rarely visited relative. There's a mix-up, though, and they arrive to find the relative is out of the country, just like their dad. The need for resources and adult help leads them to investigate the mystery of great-aunt Haddie, which leads them to investigate the mystery of The Kneebone Boy, which might just lead them to investigate the mystery of their missing mother.
---
Ellen Potter writes characters and stories that are quirky, odd, wise, and fun. This one's another winner.

h
hollyheartsYA
Jul 11, 2012

Mystery, 3 very unique siblings, a difficult family situation, and plenty of adventure make The Kneebone Boy a great read for boys and girls ages 8/9+! I wonder if there will be more books featuring the Hardscrabble children, it seems hinted at but this could be a standalone. Definitely add this one to your children's To-Be-Read pile they will love it!

e
elised
May 22, 2012

Fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Mysterious Benedict Society will enjoy the story of three strange siblings in the midst of an unbelievably strange adventure. Finding themselves suddenly free to explore London on their own, Otto, Lucia (pronounced Lu-CHEE-a), and Max Hardscrabble follow the only clue they have to the mysterious disappearance of their mother: a letter from their great-aunt who is living in a castle built for children in Snoring-by-the-Sea, a town with a dark past. Here, they begin to unravel the secrets of the legendary Kneebone boy, a creature rumored to be half animal half boy, and find that their own family’s secrets are not so different from the secrets of the Kneebone family.

The strength of this book lies in its quirky cast of characters.
The tone of The Kneebone Boy is dark and strange, but not supernatural or scary. The fast-paced mystery builds upon layers of clues to an exciting climax, which will appeal to readers who enjoy a puzzle. The pieces do come together neatly in the end in a surprising and inventive conclusion.

m
mbssmith
May 15, 2012

I loved this book!! So good!! I really liked the descriptions of each chapter, they were really funny and cute, for example: Chapter 1: In which we meet the Hardscrabbles, unearth a triceratops bone, and begin to like Lucia even more. Also with most books I don't like the end but I like the ending of this book. Also I think it was Lucia's point of view.

b
bluebelle11
Jan 25, 2011

I like this book a lot. It's a little strange, but still likeable.
And I'm pretty sure the one who "wrote" it was Lucia.

LibrarianJan Jan 05, 2011

In tone, a bit like the Series of Unfortunate Events. I liked the book, but I was taken aback by the serious turn at the conclusion.

Quotes

Add a Quote

JCLChrisK Aug 14, 2013

People should have all their big adventures while they're still under the age of fourteen. If you don't, you start to lose your passion for big adventures. It just begins to fade away bit by bit and then you forget you ever wanted adventures in the first place.

JCLChrisK Aug 14, 2013

It's alarming how quickly people adjust to adventures when they are in one. You have to really work at being astonished by life.

JCLChrisK Aug 14, 2013

All great adventures have moments that are really crap.

m
mbssmith
May 15, 2012

"Right," Max said, but he sounded preoccupied. He was thinking deeply and importantly. Lucia knew from experience not to interrupt him when he was thinking deeply and importantly. If you let him alone, he would eventually tell you something very interesting.

baretta May 15, 2012

Memory, in my opinion, is a complete noodle. It hangs onto the silliest things but forgets the stuff that matters. The Hardscrabbles had forgotten so much about their mum that she only existed in fragments, like a doll that's been taken apart and has pieces that are lost and other bits that are drawn on with a marker.

Age

Add Age Suitability

f
fadisi
Feb 26, 2017

fadisi thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and under

r
red_nightingale_12
Jul 17, 2012

red_nightingale_12 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top