A Game for Swallows

A Game for Swallows

To Die, to Leave, to Return

Graphic Novel - 2012
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:

When Zeina was born, the civil war in Lebanon had been going on for six years, so it's just a normal part of life for her and her parents and little brother. The city of Beirut is cut in two, separated by bricks and sandbags and threatened by snipers and shelling. East Beirut is for Christians, and West Beirut is for Muslims. When Zeina's parents don't return one afternoon from a visit to the other half of the city and the bombing grows ever closer, the neighbors in her apartment house create a world indoors for Zeina and her brother where it's comfy and safe, where they can share cooking lessons and games and gossip. Together they try to make it through a dramatic day in the one place they hoped they would always be safe--home.

Publisher: Minneapolis : Graphic Universe, c2012.
ISBN: 9780761385684
Characteristics: 187 p. : ill., map ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mark_Daly Feb 03, 2015

A colorful group of neighbors in a war zone gather together for safety when the night's artillery shooting begins. The bold black-and-white illustrations buzz with energy. Drawn from the author's childhood memories. In the vein of David B. and Marjane Satrapi.

quagga Nov 10, 2014

One eventful day in the life of two small children during the civil war in Lebanon told in a graphic novel memoir.

BCD2013 Jun 06, 2014

NYPL Staff Picks
In East Beirut in 1984, the Lebanese Civil War rages outside while Zeina and her little brother spend a long night with their neighbors waiting for their parents to come home.
- Andrea Lipinski

Age

Add Age Suitability

Mark_Daly Feb 03, 2015

Mark_Daly thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top