Drop Dead on Recall

Drop Dead on Recall

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

The passions aroused by canine competition can inspire violent fantasies. But when a talented handler falls flat on her face during the obedience trials, Australian Shepherd lover Janet MacPhail can hardly believe someone would actually resort to murder.

As she takes care of her mother and falls for a hunky black Lab owner, the last thing Janet needs is to find out she's become a "person of interest." Nosing around for clues that might clear her good name, Janet and her friends--Australian Shepherd Jay, tabby cat Leo, and eccentric neighbor Goldie Sunshine--discover the hard way that killers don't like snoops. And it soon becomes apparent that the next victim might just be Janet herself.

Praise:

"Boneham packs a punch in her series debut."--RT Book Reviews

"A smart first mystery. Fans of Laurien Berenson or Susan Conant will especially enjoy this pet-centered mystery."--Booklist

"Boneham's debut will delight dog fanciers."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] delightful debut. Right up there with the likes of Sue Grafton (Kinsey Millhone novels) and Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum novels), without the profanity. An intriguing whodunit."--The Australian Shepherd Journal

"With a sense of humor, a light touch of romance and a solid base of dog training experience under her collar, Sheila Boneham's first novel is worthy of honorable mention."--The Free Lance-Star

"Sheila Webster Boneham's mystery, Drop Dead on Recall,is drop dead good. The writing sparkles and the dog-obedience competition setting unleashes a surprising hotbed of motives and opportunities for multiple murder. Animal photographer Janet MacPhail makes a, yes, dogged amateur investigator, dealing with her mother's Alzheimer's and maybe a new midlife beau between finding a vicious killer. The dogs, Labs and Aussies, and cat, Leo, are of course key players in the proceedings. Five enthusiastic arfs."--Carole Nelsom Douglas, bestselling author of the Midnight Louie Mysteries

"Sheila Webster Boneham's delightful debut mystery combines a likeable sleuth, a keep-'em-guessing plot, and wonderfully authentic portrayals of the human and canine denizens of dogdom. First place with a perfect score!"--Susan Conant, author of Brute Strength and other novels in The Dog Lover Mysteries

Publisher: Woodbury, Minn. : Midnight Ink, c2012.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780738733067
Characteristics: xii, 389 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
athena14
Apr 18, 2013

The dogs are more interesting than the people; unfortunately, the book is mostly about the people.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top