The Golden Rule

The Golden Rule

Book - 1998
Rate this:
Patience has always been the favored sister, cruising through school, marrying a successful banker, and producing perfect children, whom she duly sends to boarding school. Her bossiness and moral certainty make her insufferable, but she is blissfully oblivious. Dorian, on the other hand, is the intellectual in the family, separated and childless, and engaged in a secret affair with a feckless gossip columnist.
When Patience's husband deserts her for another woman, the tables are turned. Somehow, Dorian has become a glamorous, confident single woman, while Patience is deserted by her fellow committee members and so-called friends. Even as her glass house crumbles around her, she is determined to find another suitable mate and rebuild her life.
In the tradition of "Scarlet Angel" and "Flowering Judas," this sharp, satirical novel by one of Britain's finest writers gives a pointed, irresistible jab to the hypocrisy of the "appearances are everything" crowd.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 1998.
ISBN: 9780312192747
0312192746
Branch Call Number: Pal
Characteristics: 294p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top