Beach House for Rent

Beach House for Rent

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
New York Times Bestseller!
Bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe returns to her beloved Isle of Palms to tell the poignant, charming story of two women, one summer, and one very special beach house.

When Cara Rutledge rents out her quaint beach house on Isle of Palms to Heather Wyatt for the entire summer, it's a win-win by any standard: Cara's generating income necessary to keep husband Brett's ecotourism boat business afloat, and anxiety-prone Heather, an young artist who's been given a commission to paint birds on postage stamps, has a quiet space in which to work and tend to her pet canaries uninterrupted.

It isn't long, however, before both women's idyllic summers are altered irrevocably: the alluring shorebirds--and the man who rescues them--begin to draw Heather out of the shell she's cultivated toward a world of adventure, and maybe even love; at the same time, Cara's life reels with sudden tragedy, and she wishes only to return to the beach house that had once been her port amidst life's storms. When Heather refuses to budge from her newfound sanctuary, so begins the unlikeliest of rooming situations. While they start out as strangers, as everything around the women falls apart they learn that the only thing they can really rely on is each other.

And, like the migrating shorebirds that come to the island for the summer, these two women of different generations must rediscover their unique strengths so by summer's end they, too, can take flight in ways they never imagined possible.
Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2017.
Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781501125461
9781501125522
Characteristics: 408 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pp47
Aug 01, 2017

As always a great read one of the best books I have read this yr, hope for a sequel, possibly with Cara. Such beautiful writing style with her love of animals and the sea, postage stamps was such an original theme, I never realized they were done by artists

c
caj1222204441801
Jul 19, 2017

This author does not disappoint. Her character are so real and entertaining. I have read all of her books and absolutely highly recommend.

s
SaturdayLibrarian
Jun 28, 2017

Fans of Sarah Addison Allen or Karen White, will delight in Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe. A finely crafted story of love, fear, friendship and the courage to begin again. A great summer read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top