Swimming for Sunlight

Swimming for Sunlight

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie's grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother's troupe of underwater performers--finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook. Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan. But Katie quickly learns there's a lot she doesn't know about Nan--like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water. As Katie's college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark's fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Atria Paperback, 2019.
ISBN: 9781501198489
Characteristics: 334 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
DCLadults Jun 25, 2019

A New & Noteworthy pick. A newly divorced woman and her faithful rescue dog move to Florida and befriend a bevy of aging mermaids. If you’re in the mood for something fun and uplifting, this is it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PDL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top